MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CATHOLIC LAWYERS GUILD OF CHICAGO

WEDNESDAY, MAY 2, 2018

- 1. <u>Introduction.</u> The Annual Meeting of the Catholic Lawyers Guild of Chicago (the "Guild") was held on Wednesday, May 2, 2017, in the Jenner & Block Conference Center at 353 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois, commencing at 5:30 p.m. A quorum of members was present in person. The President of the Guild, Judge Thomas M. Donnelly, called the meeting to order.
- 2. **Invocation.** Deacon Dan Welter delivered the invocation.
- 3. <u>Minutes.</u> Upon motion duly seconded, the Minutes of the 2017 Annual Meeting were approved as submitted.
- 4. <u>Treasurer's Report.</u> The Treasurer of the Guild, Nicholas Tyszka, presented a brief report on the finances of the Guild. As of May 9, 2017, the Guild had a cash balance of \$41,091.61.
- 5. <u>Election of New Board Members.</u> The President introduced Daniel Murray to present the report of the Nominating Committee. Mr. Simon reported that the Nominating Committee proposed the following twenty-five (25) candidates to be elected as members of the Board of Governors for terms as designated by the Committee.

For terms expiring in 2021:

- 1. Sandy Blake
- 2. Brendan J. Dailey
- 3. Nora Devine
- 4. Michael J. Dickman
- 5. Diane Faust
- 6. Hon. Robert Harris
- 7. Hon. Daniel Kubasiak
- 8. Hon. Patricia Mendoza
- 9. James Murray
- 10. Hon. Leonard Murray
- 11. Mary Nicolau
- 12. Richard J. Nogal
- 13. Hon. Jesse G. Reyes
- 14. Joseph O. Rubinelli
- 15. John C. Sciaccotta
- 16. Catherine L. Steege
- 17. Hon. Susan Kennedy Sullivan
- 18. Hon. Mary Jane Theis
- 19. Daniel A. Trevino

20. Joseph Wyss

For terms expiring in 2020:

- 1. Patricia Carlson
- 2. Koga Moffor
- 3. Lisette Mojica

For terms expiring in 2019:

- 1. Kelli M. Mulder
- 2. Daniel R. Murray

On Motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the foregoing individuals to terms on the Board of Governors was unanimously approved.

6. <u>Election of Officers.</u> The President again recognized Daniel Murray. Mr. Murray reported that, with respect to the offices of Second Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, the Nominating Committee proposed the following candidates for election as officers of the Guild for the ensuing year:

Second Vice President: Kevin J. Murphy Secretary: Judge Ed Washington, II Treasurer: T. Nicholas Tyszka

On motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the officers proposed by the Nominating Committee was unanimously approved.

The President also noted that, pursuant to Article VII, Section 2 of our Bylaws, the President automatically assumes the office of Immediate Past President; our current second vice president, Pamela S. Menaker, advances to first vice president and our current first vice president, Sister Catherine Ryan becomes president.

- 7. **Oaths of Office.** The Honorable Justice Anne Burke of the Illinois Supreme Court administered the oaths of office to the new Board members, the new Officers, and the new President.
- 8. **Remarks by Outgoing President.** Outgoing President Thomas M. Donnelly gave remarks summarizing his term in office, thanking all who assisted him during the year, and welcoming the new officers.
- 9. **Presentation of Gift to Outgoing President.** Incoming President Sister Catherine Ryan then presented gifts to the Outgoing President Thomas M. Donnelly.
- 10. **Remarks by Incoming President.** Incoming President Sister Catherine Ryan then made remarks summarizing his objectives for the forthcoming year.

- 11. **Benediction.** Fr. Bob Cook delivered the closing benediction.
- Adjournment. The formal business of the Meeting having been concluded, upon Motion 12. to Adjourn duly seconded, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:15pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

<u>/s/ Kevin Murphy</u> Kevin J. Murphy

Incoming Secretary