MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CATHOLIC LAWYERS GUILD OF CHICAGO

WEDNESDAY, MAY 1, 2019

- 1. <u>Introduction.</u> The Annual Meeting of the Catholic Lawyers Guild of Chicago (the "Guild") was held on Wednesday, May 1, 2019, in the Jenner & Block Conference Center at 353 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois, commencing at 5:00 p.m. A quorum of members was present in person. The President of the Guild, Sister Cathy Ryan, called the meeting to order.
- 2. <u>Invocation.</u> Very Reverend Gregory Sakowicz delivered the invocation.
- 3. <u>Minutes.</u> Upon motion duly seconded, the Minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting were approved as submitted.
- 4. <u>Treasurer's Report.</u> The Treasurer of the Guild, Nicholas Tyszka, presented a brief report on the finances of the Guild. As of April 30, 2019, the Guild had a cash balance of \$33,886.41.
- 5. <u>Election of New Board Members.</u> The President introduced Daniel Murray to present the report of the Nominating Committee. Mr. Murray reported that the Nominating Committee proposed the following twenty-five (25) candidates to be elected as members of the Board of Governors for terms as designated by the Committee.

For terms expiring in 2022:

Royal F. Berg Alex Blair Justice Anne M. Burke Robert John Connor Alisa Finelli Jean M. Gaspardo Mauro Glorioso Thomas Hogan Kevin Kelley Saulius V. Kuprys Jonathan Michael Kelli M. Mulder Patrick Murphy Daniel R. Murray Koga Ndikum-Moffor Sr. Elizabeth A. Pawlicki, OP Taylor K. Railsback Michael P. Seng John A. Simon

Stephen Viz

For terms expiring in 2021:

Hon. Thomas More Donnelly

For terms expiring in 2020:

Hon. Regina Scannicchio

On Motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the foregoing individuals to terms on the Board of Governors was unanimously approved.

6. <u>Election of Officers.</u> The President again recognized Daniel Murray. Mr. Murray reported that, with respect to the offices of Second Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, the Nominating Committee proposed the following candidates for election as officers of the Guild for the ensuing year:

Second Vice President: Judge Ed Washington, II

Secretary: James Murray

Treasurer: T. Nicholas Tyszka

On motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the officers proposed by the Nominating Committee was unanimously approved.

The President also noted that, pursuant to Article VII, Section 2 of our Bylaws, the President automatically assumes the office of Immediate Past President; our current second vice president, Kevin J. Murphy, advances to first vice president and our current first vice president, Pamela Sakowicz Menaker becomes president.

- 7. **Oaths of Office.** The Honorable Justice Thomas Kilbride administered the oath of office to the new Board members. The Honorable Chief Judge Timothy Evans administered the oaths of office to the new Officers. The Honorable Justice Anne Burke of the Illinois Supreme Court administered the oaths of office to the new President.
- 8. <u>Remarks by Outgoing President.</u> Outgoing President Sister Cathy Ryan gave remarks summarizing her term in office, thanking all who assisted her during the year, and welcoming the new officers.
- 9. <u>Presentation of Gift to Outgoing President.</u> Incoming President Pamela Sakowicz Menaker then presented gifts to the Outgoing President Sister Cathy Ryan.
- 10. **Remarks by Incoming President.** Incoming President Pamela Sakowicz Menaker then made remarks summarizing her objectives for the forthcoming year.
- 11. **Benediction.** Fr. Bob Cook delivered the closing benediction.

12.	Adjournment.	The formal business of the Meeting having been concluded, upon Motion
	to Adjourn duly	seconded, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:15pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Kevin Murphy
Kevin J. Murphy
Incoming First Vice President