Catholic Lawyer of the Year

Catholic Lawyer of the Year
The Catholic Lawyer of the Year award is presented annually to a lawyer who has brought Christ to the world through the practice of law. Award recipients are exemplary Catholic lawyers who have put the gospel into practice by their service to the bar, bench and the public, especially service to the poor.

2023: Justice Mathias W. Delort (ret.)
2022: Hon. Jacqueline Cox
2021: Hon. Roman Ocasio III
2020: Tanya D. Woods
2019: Royal F. Berg
2018: Hon. Tom Hogan
2017: R. Matthew Simon
2016: Hon. Virginia M. Kendall
2015: Thomas J. Dart
2014: Hon. Thomas More Tom Donnelly
2013: Mr. Daniel J. Cheely
2012: Ms. Carla Michelotti
2011: Mr. James Serritella
2008: Hon. Ruben Castillo
2007: Mr. Daniel Murray
2006: Mr. David Hartigan
2005: Hon. Thomas Fitzgerald
2005: Prof. Richard A. Michael
2003: Most Rev. Thomas J. Paprocki
2002: Hon. Mary Jane Theis
2001: Mr. William Harte
2000: Rev. Mr. George Brooks
1999: Hon. James Ryan
1998: Hon. Edward Burke
1998: Hon. Anne Burke
1997: Hon. Daniel J. McNamara
1996: Hon. John H. Stroger, Jr.
1995: Mr. Raymond F. Simon
1994: Mr. James J. O’Connor
1993: Hon. Mary Ann McMorrow
1992: Mr. Philip J. Rock
1991: Mr. Patrick E. Mahoney
1990: Sr. Catherine M. Ryan
1989: Hon. William J. Bauer
1988: Hon. Paul J. Biebel Jr.
1987: Hon. George N. Leighton
1986: Hon. Richard L. Curry
1985: Hon. Frank J. McGarr
1984: Hon. Harry J. Comerford
1983: Hon. Arthur L. Dunne
1982: Mr. Denis J. Horan
1981: Hon. Richard M. Daley
1980: Hon. Henry J. Hyde
1979: Mr. William E. Cahill
1978: Mr. Michael A. Bilandic
1977: Hon. Morgan F. Murphy
1976: Mr. Thomas M. Tully
1975: Hon. Joseph A. Power
1974: Hon. Daniel J. O’Brien
1973: Hon. Neil F. Hartigan
1972: Hon. Robert J. Duke Dunne
1971: Hon. Daniel P. Ward
1970: Hon. John S. Boyle
1969: Hon. Richard J. Daley
1968: Mr. Edward V. Hanrahan
1967: Hon. William J. Campbell

Do you know a lawyer who should be considered for this honor? If so, please consider nominating them. The deadline to nominate is April 30th of each year, and recipients are bestowed such honors at the annual Red Mass held in October. Nominations can be sent to Jim Convery.